Mixed Ministries

Then the LORD told me: “I will give you my message in the form of a vision. Write it clearly enough to be read at a glance. ”
–Habakkuk 2:2 (Contemporary English Version)
I enjoy writing.
When I was in high school, college, and seminary I didn’t do all that much writing unless it was assigned, but even then, I enjoyed the process. The ideas starting to develop and ‘percolate’ until there was a structure and a clear point that I could use to communicate whatever it was about which I was trying to write.
I have worked as a free-lance reporter for several local newspapers in northern Pennsylvania since the mid-80’s and wrote for my school papers in high school and college. Now, as a pastor for the past ten years, my writing tends to be in preparation for sermons or newsletters.
But this passage from the Old Testament prophet Habakkuk’s little book reminds me of the responsibility we have in sharing the message we are given… the insights, the visions, the revelations… and to make them as clear as possible for others to read.
With that in mind, I start this blog. Not to dramatically impact the world around me… but simply to share what I get… the things I see, the insights God gives, the understandings, and even the struggles, of life as a Christian and as a pastor. Sometimes you’ll be able to simply read my own thoughts, sometimes it’ll be something I prepared for my congregation as a devotional or a pastoral letter, sometimes I might just share what I’m walking through.
By the way, I am an excellent speller, but can’t type worth a bean… so I make no guarantees about spelling or even officially proper grammar. I don’t tend to think in grammatically correct paragraphs, so I hardly ever write that way either.
Also, understand that as a pastor, there are many times when I don’t get to just sit around and play on the computer, so I don’t guarantee any certain frequency of my postings… we’ll just have to see!
So read… enjoy… agree or disagree… you can even respond if you want…
Leave a comment

Filed under Journaling

Leave a Reply

